Glamorous = Flying First Class

20 06 2009

I had the best surprise as I boarded my flight to Quito. I dread long flights and car rides. Back in 2001, I drove my rice rocket (aka Honda Civic) from Castro Valley, CA to Dallas, TX without cruise control and in the middle of August! Thankfully my ga-ja (big sis) volunteered to do the road trip with me. Twenty nine hours later, we were in Dallas. I vowed never to do that again. So as I got ready for this flight to Quito, I prepared with sleep pills, gum, movies and books. I also mentally prepared for flying in economy (also called sardine class).


economyclass

To my surprise and tears of joy, I looked at my ticket and realized that I was flying first class! I have never flown first class before and immediately The Wedding Singer starring Adam Sandler popped into my mind.


firstclass

Let me start off with the seats. They’re wide, spacious and leather. I have arm rests that you would normally find sitting in a comfy chair at Starbucks. I can actually recline to sleep. Then there is the leg room. I could cross my legs without having to adjust and contort my body as if I was trying to do yoga. And finally there are the food and drinks. They bring you drinks before the plane takes off, the liquor is free and flowing and there is silverware and glass. The meal was incredible. I had a caesar salad, lobster appetizer, and beef tips with asparagus. To compliment my meal, a glass of white wine. For dessert, the flight attendant brought me cheesecake topped with seasonal berries. I think I pinched myself a couple of times to be sure it was real!

feetfirstclass

firstclassdrink

firstclassfood

Meanwhile the poor people sitting in coach were munching on stale bread and cardboard meat squished six per row. If you ever get the chance to be upgraded to first class, take it! You will never want to fly economy again.

This is the start of a great trip – truly GLAMOROUS.

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 06 2009
John

Thought this trip was about justice? Why Didnt you give you seat away?

😉

22 06 2009
Jill

I’m not really the “roughing it” type but I really think I should give mission work another chance. First class sounds like my kind of roughing it! Seriously, I’m thrilled that you had 1st class for such a long flight!

30 06 2009
Brooke

It seems as if I’ve had the “international first class flight” discussion a few times lately and I’m so extremely jealous. The 10 hour flight to and from London was MISERABLE in coach. Thank goodness I had nyquil!

Also- Are you actually from Oakland or Castro Valley? I’ve been to Castro Valley a few times- I have a friend that lives there. Strange! Its a much prettier place than Dallas 🙂

Leave a Reply

