Mukwano Gwange (Beloved Friend)

25 05 2010

I find myself very inadequate when I speak with pastors in the village. I feel I have nothing in common and get this sense that I am somehow in their way. But those feelings of inadequacy and distance fade away whenever I visit Pastor Mike Obaya. The first time I spoke at his church, he took me by the hand and directed me to the front of his church where he usually sits. He relegates his seat to me and sits on a wooden pew in front. I watch as he directs people in the church to lead songs of praise, to share testimony and to read scripture. The best part was watching him play something similiar to a djembe (but it was an African drum). Most pastors I know in the States are musically and rhythmically challenged so it was a joy to see him slapping a mean Ugandan beat.

My beloved friend has shown me so much about being humble and a servant. He does not draw a salary from his church (he barely makes enough money to support his family), has no formal Bible training yet he is filled with inexplicable joy. During the week, he works on a small plot of land farming and growing vegetables to feed his family. On the weekends, he ministers at his church perched on top of Namawojoolo village overlooking beautiful Mukono district. He is known by most everyone in his village as an honest hardworking man.

Today I visited my beloved friend and he shared with me that the church building collapsed a few weeks ago during a strong windstorm. There were people inside when it happened, but fortunately no one was injured. I surveyed the church and saw that they were slowly rebuilding, reusing the lumber that tumbled and straightening the corrugated aluminum roof. They have been meeting outside for the past several weeks and hope to be under a roof by June. There’s nothing fancy about this church. No electricity, no running water, no walls. It’s just some beams, trusses and a roof. No state of the art sound system, no lights, no projection system. They sing from memory, share from the heart and laugh with such joy. I know their joy resonates from the love of Christ, but I believe it is also because they have a wonderful servant leader who leads by example.

As I got ready to leave, he had a personal request. He asked if I knew anyone that could help him get a large print NIV Study Bible. He currently uses an old KJV but it’s not helpful when he needs to study or read the Luganda version of the Bible (which is translated from the NIV). I told him ‘too bad, if they could read it in 1611, we can read it in the 21st century’. I gave him a fist pound and headed back to the office… j/k. I told him I would ask my friends and see what we can do.

So how about it? Can you help my beloved friend get a NIV Study Bible? If you’re interested in making a small contribution, send me an email and I’ll get you details.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

